Check out who has been appointed to officiate on the opening day of the 2020/2021 Football League season

Written by Nathan Mattick

Previous matchday

Carabao Cup First Round Match Official Appointments

Friday 11th September

Sky Bet Championship

Watford v Middleborough (KO: 19:45)

Referee: Keith Stroud
Assistant Referees: Nigel Lugg and Ian Cooper
Fourth Official:
Joshua Smith

Saturday 12th September

Birmingham City v Brentford (KO: 12:30)

Referee: Tony Harrington 
Assistant Referees: Shaun Hudson and Philip Dermott
Fourth Official:
Michael Salisbury

Wycombe Wanderers v Rotherham United (KO: 12:30)

Referee: James Linington
Assistant Referees: Wade Smith and Matthew Jones
Fourth Official:
Matthew Donohue

AFC Bournemouth v Blackburn Rovers

Referee: Gavin Ward
Assistant Referees: Graham Kane and Bhupinder Gill
Fourth Official: Adrian Waters

Barnsley v Luton Town

Referee: Jarred Gillett
Assistant Referees: Natalie Aspinall and Paul Hodskinson
Fourth Official: David Webb

Cardiff City v Sheffield Wednesday 

Referee: Andrew Madley
Assistant Referees: Harry Lennard and Edward Smart
Fourth Official: Mark Pottage

Derby County v Reading 

Referee: Darren Bond
Assistant Referees: Mark Russell and George Byrne
Fourth Official: Oliver Langford

Huddersfield Town v Norwich City 

Referee: Geoff Eltringham
Assistant Referees: Robert Merchant and Craig Taylor
Fourth Official: Leigh Doughty

Millwall v Stoke City 

Referee: Jeremy Simpson
Assistant Referees: Robert Hyde and Carl Fitch-Jackson
Fourth Official: Dean Whitestone 

Preston North End v Swansea City 

Referee: Rob Jones
Assistant Referees: Adrian Holmes and James Mainwaring
Fourth Official: Richard Wild

Queens Park Rangers v Nottingham Forest 

Referee: Tim Robinson
Assistant Referees: Andrew Fox and Lee Venamore
Fourth Official: Sam Lewis

Sky Bet League One

Saturday 12th September

Accrington Stanley v Peterborough United 

Referee: Marc Edwards
Assistant Referees: Peter Gooch and Richard Bartlett
Fourth Official: Steven Copeland

Crewe Alexandra v Charlton Athletic 

Referee: Graham Salisbury
Assistant Referees: Danny Gratton, and Ravel Cheosiaua,
Fourth Official: Paul Marsden

Doncaster Rovers v Milton Keynes Dons 

Referee: Andy Haines
Assistant Referees: Steven Rushton and Alistair Nelson
Fourth Official: Alan Clayton 

Fleetwood Town v Burton Albion 

Referee: Martin Coy
Assistant Referees: Anthony Moore and Kevin Mulraine
Fourth Official: Conor Brown

Gillingham v Hull City 

Referee: Andy Woolmer
Assistant Referees: Rob Smith and Daniel Leach
Fourth Official: Michael George 

Lincoln City v Oxford United 

Referee: Andy Davies
Assistant Referees: Mark Dwyer and Steven Meredith
Fourth Official: Matthew McGrath

Northampton Town v AFC Wimbledon 

Referee: Ollie Yates
Assistant Referees: Paul Kelly and Scott Williams
Fourth Official: Marc Wilson

Plymouth Argyle v Blackpool

Referee: Kevin Johnson
Assistant Referees: John Flynn and Dean Treleaven
Fourth Official: Scott Jackson

Portsmouth v Shrewsbury Town 

Referee: Charles Breakspear
Assistant Referees: Mike Desborough and Michael Chard
Fourth Official: Paul Yates

Sunderland v Bristol Rovers  

Referee: Anthony Backhouse
Assistant Referees: Gareth Mellor and Simon Clayton
Fourth Official: Matthew Dicicco

Swindon Town v Rochdale 

Referee: Alan Young
Assistant Referees: Adrian Tranter and Joe Clark
Fourth Official: Christopher Husband

Sunday 13th September 

Ipswich Town v Wigan Athletic (KO: 12:00)

Referee: Thomas Bramall
Assistant Referees: Gareth Viccars and Gregory Read
Fourth Official: 
David Rock

Saturday 12th September 

Sky Bet League Two

Barrow AFC v Stevenage

 Referee: Scott Oldham
Assistant Referees: David Avent and Richard Woodward
Fourth Official: Martin Woods

Bolton Wanderers v Forest Green Rovers

 Referee: Sebastian Stockbridge
Assistant Referees: David Hunt and  Kenwyn Hughes
Fourth Official: Hristo Karaivanov

Bradford City v Colchester United

 Referee: Ross Joyce
Assistant Referees: Barry Gordon and Chris Isherwood
Fourth Official: Robert Atkin

Cambridge United v Carlisle United 

Referee: Paul Howard
Assistant Referees: Garry Maskell and Paul Lister
Fourth Official: Stephen Finch

Cheltenham Town v Morecambe 

Referee: Carl Brook
Assistant Referees: Simon Shaw and Andy Bennett
Fourth Official: Marvyn Amphlett

Mansfield Town v Tranmere Rovers

Referee: James Bell
Assistant Referees: Declan Ford and Kevin Howick
Fourth Official: Lisa Rashid

Oldham Athletic v Leyton Orient

Referee: Declan Bourne
Assistant Referees: Mark Cunliffe and Paul Newhouse
Fourth Official: Andrew Dallison

Port Vale v Crawley Town 

Referee: Samuel Allison
Assistant Referees: Gary Hilton and Christopher Kidd
Fourth Official: Joe Simpson 

Salford City v Exeter City

Referee: Samuel Barrott
Assistant Referees: Wayne Grunnill and Billy Smallwood
Fourth Official: Christopher Ward

Scunthorpe United v Newport County

Referee: Benjamin Speedie
Assistant Referees: Graeme Fyvie and Paul Graham
Fourth Official: Richard Wigglesworth

Southend United v Harrogate Town 

Referee: Antony Coggins
Assistant Referees: Daniel Cook and Aaron Farmer
Fourth Official: Conor Farrell

Walsall v Grimsby Town 

Referee: Lee Swabey
Assistant Referees: Paul Stonier and Geoffrey Russell
Fourth Official: Ollie Williams

Our Partnerships

Partnerships are often formed between individuals, agencies or organisations with a shared interest to address specific issues. Our evidence reveals that our members young and old often require mental, emotional, financial, medical help, support and guidance. The Referees’ Association champion the work of those agencies that provide this support in times of need. Should you require support please contact the relevant agency below or the RA Head Office.
Learn more

Join the Referees Association

The National RA recommends that prospective members should join through their local LRA, the easiest way being to attend one of the many local association meetings that take place across the country on a regular (usually monthly) basis. Find your nearest branch now.

Alternatively, online membership is now available for any referee who wishes to take up central membership. The National RA will then allocate you a local branch. Join now.