Related article

Kirsty Dowle - What is it like to be a referee?
On 1st December 2019, the brand new National Young Referee Development Team (NYRDT) met for the first time at the St George's Park National Football Centre. 
 
At the first meeting of the season, we put some vigorous and productive plans in place for the season. As a team of eleven nationwide active, young referees, we want more young referees to pick up the whistle and start their careers as referees. We want to aid with the retention of referees after they have completed their basic course and provide follow up support for new and young referees and help with their progression through the refereeing pyramid. 
 
 The NYRDT is as below. Alongside their name, you can also see which county they’re registered to along with their e-mail so you can contact them directly. 
 
Faris Ahmad - Berks & Bucks - Faris.Ahmad@nyrdt.co.uk
 Karl Barron – Durham - Karl.Barron@nyrdt.co.uk
 Ella Broad - Wiltshire - Ella.Broad@nyrdt.co.uk
 Joe Cunningham – Manchester - Joe.Cunningham@nyrdt.co.uk
 Daniel Ellis – Worcestershire - Dan.Ellis@nyrdt.co.uk 
Callum Jones – Liverpool - Callum.Jones@nyrdt.co.uk
 Joseph Larkin - Birmingham/Lancashire - Joe.Larkin@nyrdt.co.uk
 Chloe Matthews – Staffordshire - Chloe.Matthews@nyrdt.co.uk
 Harvey Newstead – Norfolk - Harvey.Newstead@nyrdt.co.uk
 Salim Jeylani Saeed – London - Salim.Saeed@nyrdt.co.uk
 Holly Shepherd – Leicestershire - Holly.Shepherd@nyrdt.co.uk 
 
Our new NYRDT is continuing to develop and we have more and more ideas to progress the young referee workforce across the country. This includes networking and development days for our young referee volunteers to pass on good practice from both a national level and a regional level, we will also be looking to send out information on a monthly occasion to keep our network up to date with events, changes and the teams progress.
 
Our next meeting will be in February where we will be looking at our plans and preparing to roll them out, nationwide.
 
We can be contacted as a team via e-mail at: support@nyrdt.co.uk
Stay in touch by following us on Twitter @TheNYRDT and on Instagram @TheNYRDT

Our Partnerships

Partnerships are often formed between individuals, agencies or organisations with a shared interest to address specific issues. Our evidence reveals that our members young and old often require mental, emotional, financial, medical help, support and guidance. The Referees’ Association champion the work of those agencies that provide this support in times of need. Should you require support please contact the relevant agency below or the RA Head Office.
Learn more

Join the Referees Association

The National RA recommends that prospective members should join through their local LRA, the easiest way being to attend one of the many local association meetings that take place across the country on a regular (usually monthly) basis. Find your nearest branch now.

Alternatively, online membership is now available for any referee who wishes to take up central membership. The National RA will then allocate you a local branch. Join now.